, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone I think there is a tendency to under appreciate tour opening shows. The current ratings on this show support that theory. Was it one for the ages? Only in context, but it was still very good. The first set was solid with a good mixture of older and newer material. The second set is where things got interesting. Lots of segues and a really weird/cool rendition of Fuego were highlights. The opening songs in both sets sent some fairly clear messages as well, as did some of the other song selections. I think this show will grow on people with a second listen.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Lambo_Lambo

Lambo_Lambo *On the couch until Atlantic City* The band takes the stage and takes it all in. Those few extra seconds of them gazing at the crowd was a nice way to say "welcome back, we've missed you." This is a nice opening for "I Never Needed You Like This Before" which for me is one of the standout new Trey tracks. I'm a big fan of that hard opening riff. "Tube" nearly gets to "Did they jam out tube?" territory much like 12/1/19 with Trey quietly using the POG and Wah. A nice first set "Free" leads to a cute "Bouncing" and a heavy "46 Days." Fishman takes the lead on "Limb By Limb," ending with a "blahblahblahblah." "Wolfman's absolutely soars. You can tell the band has as much fun exploring that jam as we do hearing it. I'm always here for a "NICU." I think the audience and band are fully ready for "DWYS" to become a regular first set closer. After the past year and a half, those lyrics are hitting different. Set two opens in the murky depths of Mike's flanger; an expected but wonderful "Down With Disease." Interpret the lyrics however you want nowadays. The vaccine has been created! This leads to a happy "Simple" until it doesn't. The band gets dark. "Disease -> Simple" becomes the most experimental 30 minutes of the show. Life hasn't been so simple. The best part of the night leads into the most rocky in my opinion. "Fuego" is a face-melter but this one was a little goofy. For me, "Plasma" was the lowest part of the night but was quickly supplanted by a "Weekapaug Jim." I do love when they sneak-a-paug and the band seems to have a "uh oh we're being silly" expressions on their face. We end the segues with "Rift." "If I Could" caught me by surprise showing up this late in the show but, to me, it worked. "Rise/Come Together" got some hate on twitter but by that time I was feeling the love, which led into a wonderful "Slave" to close it out. Trey says before "Santos" that this is the first time they've played Arkansas and they want to come back. Big shout out to the people of Arkansas. You deserve every show you get.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by schwitze

schwitze First set was average to good, nothing particularly spectacular. The welcome from the crowd when the band stepped onto stage was phenomenal. Second set was a rager. The one-two punch of Disease->Simple took us in some dark and interesting places. Speaking of dark, that Fuego was intense, almost creepy. Would have loved for them to explore the spaces it was going a little more, but I can never complain with a segue into Plasma. The segues for the first half of the set were smooth and buttery. They came out to play for set 2. Of course the Weekapaug Jim was the standout of the set for me. It seemed to come out of nowhere when they went into Weekapaug and just as seamlessley, they segued back into Jim. At this point, I am absolutely in love with this set. The rift was strong, but don't sleep on the If I Could. Great vocal and instrumental interplay between Trey and Page throughout. Solid show, 3.5-4. Would be a clear 4 with a stronger first set.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy

Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy For a tour opener pretty strong show. Alittle rust here and there , but it was a great mix of new and old songs . I'm a pretty big fan of the simple and down with disease in this show for sure, the rift and if I could placement was a bit strange , but all together this show had alot of energy and alot of promise for this tour.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy

Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy For a tour opener pretty strong show. Alittle rust here and there , but it was a great mix of new and old songs . I'm a pretty big fan of the simple and down with disease in this show for sure, the rift and if I could placement was a bit strange , but all together this show had alot of energy and alot of promise for this tour.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by dublindeuce

dublindeuce 17 months after their last live show, Phish is finally back on tour! The band nicely stretched its legs in Arkansas. Notably, this is the first time Phish has played Arkansas. The songs in the first set are well executed, if not a little rusty. Trey nails Limb by Limb in soaring fashion. Wolfman's Brother is the highlight of the set. It has a fantastic, percussive jam that sounds nothing like pre pandemic Phish. . Down with Disease and Simple both clock in at about 15 minutes, and are the most exploratory jams of the night. I particularly like the Simple, which quickly gets weird and interesting. There's a great transition into a dark and gnarly Fuego which features trance inducing Fishman. Just as Plasma seems to take off, Trey opts for Runaway Jim, which contains an adventurous but brief segue into Weekapaug Groove. The set ends with Slave to the Traffic Light, which has a patient and beautiful build. Trey's guitar tone is killer. A very enjoyable tour opener. Let's see what the rest of tour has to offer! Read the book.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 First show back was promising and quite enjoyable, and i was blessed to be in attendance. Good mix of classics and new stuff too. As expected with a tour opener, execution wasn’t perfect (mainly Fuego lol), but the Disease > Simple combo was incredible. All around very good and i’m excited to see what they’ll do next
, attached to 1997-12-12

Review by RollinInMyGrego

RollinInMyGrego Show #2: I was only 16, but I think at this point I knew I was hooked. This show clearly gets overshadowed by an incredible Fall '97, including the shows the night before and after, but this one is by no means a sleeper. The 2nd set just has an incredible arc, variety and flow. Not my ideal setlist but nearly perfect execution. The contrast between high intensity psychedelic madness of Saw It Again, Piper and Caspian and the serene calming Swept Away > Steep in between is just perfect. Then to finish things off with balls to the wall rocking Izabella > Tweeprise. There are gems scattered throughout the rest of the show--Funky Bitch > 2001 bonkers opener, typical excellent '97 Taste, dark and story Tweezer and a monster 2 song encore--but it's the entire 2nd set that really stands out.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man I had a good time. And it ended with me and everyone else having a great time during the Reprise!! That's such a fun song to sing, right?! But, what i've never asked here or on PT or anywhere besides talkin' with my friends and/or people I just met is this: in Guelah Papyrus the first two lines are, "Aboard a craft bereft of oar I rowed upstream to find Lenore" Now, I love Tom Marshall. TM5 in my book. But how the fuck does ya row upstream bereft(meaning without) of an oar?? Answers, please and thanks. See y'all in a few weeks!!
, attached to 2021-07-03

Review by Sniff

Sniff WOW. This was [b]rad[/b]. Seeing Oysterhead live was something I had fantastized about, but never thought would actually happen. 2020 gave me hope for a brief moment, so having the opportunity to se them at Peach still feels surreal. To top it off, the band crushed it... arguably a stronger show than either night in 2020. If you enjoy Oysterhead, or are just curious, check this out.
, attached to 2014-02-14

Review by The__Van

The__Van Ah my first TAB show. TAB at the TAB. I didn't know whether to expect jamming or not but I was dancing all the same when Cayman Review started up. Magilla was a nice nod to TAB's first performance of the song. I remember being really impressed with Trey's solo on Dark and Down. The guy in front of me thought so as well and gave me this look like he'd seen a ghost after it was over. Overall I'd say I liked the first set more than the second but it's a pretty fun show albeit nothing too out there. [b]1st Set Highlights[/b]: Cayman Review, Magilla, Dark and Down [b]2nd Set Highlights[/b]: Sand, Push On 'Til the Day
, attached to 2013-07-13

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish Going back to review my first Phish show 8 years later! This most recent relisten brings back very good memories and also made me think much higher about the quality of this show. I was very inexperienced at the time and most songs went over my head. I still haven't heard destiny unbound since this show :'( and I'm sure many others can share similar experiences. This show doesn't have one huge jam but it does have a nice mix of old and new songs, good setlist flow and solid energy brought by the rain storms. Before the show there was a huge rainbow to the left side of the stage, a sure sign of things to come both in this show and my future Phish adventures. At the time none of this sunk in, but I've come to appreciate it more as I've become more immersed in the band. I actually forgot how crazy the rain was until I read some reviews. It brought back memories of barefoot people eating it on the lawn. One person slide pretty far trying to get down the hill to their group. The lawn was totally wrecked that night haha. People were going nuts during SOAMelt especially during the "plunge below the water line" lyric. I don't remember much from the second set but Trey is on point in a lot of these songs. The DWD, Hood and Paug all have very energetic soloing and the Mike's song gets as gritty as it gets for 2013 Phish. I feel the Paug in particular is an underrated version with a bit more funk from Mike and powerful soloing from Trey. Maybe this is all just nostalgia resulting from my first full year not seeing Phish multiple times since 2013 but can't wait to get back on the road again with a new appreciation.
, attached to 2019-06-19

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Finally getting around to writing a review for my first show. Prior to going to Blossom this night, I had zero exposure to the genre of 'jam' music whatsoever. No Phish, no Dead, nothing. My buddy invited me a few weeks prior to go with him and his family to the show and I had heard of Phish, so why not? The day of the show I got a call from my girlfriend of 2.5 years ending the relationship pretty unexpectedly. I'd committed to these tickets though and I wasn't going to flake so I begrudgingly fought my instinct and showed up at my buddy's house. As we made the 40 minute drive to Blossom, we talked about everything. His dad is a seasoned vet who has been going to shows since the early '90s and was catching me up on all the terminology and basic etiquette-- no talking during music, make friends on lot, all of the beginner stuff. We show up and my first impression is an absolutely massive Shakedown. I hadn't seen anything like it and knew the environment was different than any live entertainment I'd seen before. The vending and communal sense of acceptance blew me away as I walked past unfamiliar faces and people from different aspects of my life alike. After strolling around and making our purchases, me and my buddy headed to our seats in the pavillion on Mike's side. [b]Set I[/b] opened with a nice Soul Planet. In hindsight, my lack of exposure to Phish or the genre made it difficult for me to differentiate when they were bringing out the 'magic'. After listening to this show on LivePhish 40+ times, though, I'm grateful for an mid-length Type I to start the show. Moma is what got most of the crowd going around me and the dancing really ensued. This was my first exposure to the wonders of what Page McConnell can do. Kill Devil Falls and Your Pet Cat were the first two songs that my buddy didn't inherently recognize due to the (relative) recency of KDF and the lack of play of a lot from Chilling, Thrilling since Halloween. Back on the Train was my highlight of the show at that point-- there was a more mainstream appeal and the funky-bluegrass sound distinguished the song from others; I also think it was the first display of Trey's true vocal work. On the way to the show, my buddy's dad explained the Kasvot Vaxt costume from Halloween to me which I didn't really get (was it a cover or not?) so I thought it was pretty funny that they played one of those songs. After About to Run, Divided Sky was my first Phish 'classic', all unbeknownst to my ignorant self. Upon relistens, I've found the bulk of the jam to be a little technically sloppy compared to other Divided Sky versions, but I will always be grateful for its appearance that night. To be totally honest, though, I Didn't Know was my first REAL introduction to Phish-- who the HELL is John Sullen Melancholy and why is he playing a vacuum on stage? And why is everybody going nuts? A nice Walls of the Cave took us to what I thought was the end of the show. Wait, these guys play two sets for THAT long? Set break we went and caught up with my buddy's parents and saw a couple more extended friends out on the lawn with them. Got a little more spun and headed back down to our seats and I wasn't quite sure how a band could play THAT much improvisational music for a second set. I was in for a treat. [b]Set II[/b] I was a little underwhelmed by Stealing Time From the Faulty Plan. At that point, it was because of the lyrics. Now, it's because I don't think it set the proper stage for the upcoming set with a low-key jam warmup. Obviously, the 20+ Birds of a Feather is the peak of the show. This was my exposure to what true chemistry can do to a band-- all four guys continued to feed off each other's energy and providing each the opportunity to take over the jam in a seemingly unending cycle of free-flowing creativity. I STILL listen to this version and am impressed and have yet to come across another BOAF that's quite as impressive and funky (but I'd love any show recs to prove myself wrong). I couldn't even tell when the band changed to Crazy Sometimes but I think it was a great follow-up from the extended jam that maintained the feel of the show. The tempo rested up with Miss You (I'm sure they were probably GASSED at this point) before Everything's Right ramped it back up seamlessly transition into an overly aggressive start CDT that mellows out as Trey takes over succeeding the vocal selection. The set ends with a high-energy Slave and everyone's face is properly melted by the completeness of the entire set. We met up with my buddy's parents prior to the SOAM encore that was just on brand with the entire second set. They found their rhythm immediately after coming back out and jammed out the version for nearly fifteen minutes before making a debut of another song???? Kind of an unheard of and unbelievable introduction to the band. We headed back out to the lot and ate some hummus and met some of our car neighbors before leaving the show. I gotta admit, I had LOVED the environment but hadn't exactly caught the bug for the music yet. There was something about being there, though, that made me forget about reality for a little bit, let alone the fact that my relationship had just ended, and all I was thinking about was being there. That feeling didn't exactly leave. About a year later, all I could listen to was this show. I'd scanned my ticket and listened on the LivePhish app on repeat before buying tickets to Summer 2020. The pandemic hit--Then I started chugging through all of the free featured shows, then the DaaM streams, and eventually downloaded Relisten to listen to 2-3 shows a DAY. Fastforward to now, I'm reviewing this as I get excited for a Indy>Hershey>AC run (my second show) before hitting Vegas which will bring me to double digits. The band instrumentally changed my life: this show introduced me to my happy music, my sad music, my everything music. I cannot imagine how different my taste in music would be without that introduction. Regardless of what happens in the rest of my Phishtory, this show will always be 'my' show. 5/5 because I'm a sucker for nostalgia.
, attached to 1994-06-18

Review by Xpanding_Man

Xpanding_Man The week this came out in Summer 2012, the band was doing a live stream from somewhere and they were having an average night by 2012 standards (which places it below average in the overarch of their careers obviously, but an average night of Phish in 2012 is still one of the best places to be on the planet). Right after the first set, an advertisement for this box set came on, and threw the preceding set of music into very sharp relief. It's just not a fair comparison - a run-of-the-mill show in 2012 against this monster? No contest. The first set is no slouch, but the second set...possibly a top 20 set from them. Highlights abound, from the Peaches > MLB jam > Bowie through Tweezer and YEM, but this is a show/set that needs to be appreciated AS A WHOLE, as it is greater than the proverbial sum of its parts. Careful playing this after a phish show this summer; it might bum you out just a bit :) 1994!!!
, attached to 1988-09-12

Review by mancubism

mancubism Sound quality’s not too good, but Shaggy Dog is such a great tune. It gets my vote for the next big bust out of 2021 - throw it in the first set Nellie Kane slot. A Train & Satin Doll - lots more jazz in 88, Page reigns supreme. Bold as Love - Trey is playing a musical saw with a lightsaber theremin by the end of the song, I am pretty sure. Timber SHREDS to start the 2nd set - bonus verse in there too! TMWSIY>Avenu>Bundle>Camel Walk is an interesting idea, but clunky. Your ears want Arrival but you Walk instead - at least the walk is funky. The Practical Song - a prescient little ditty about toilet paper shortage 32 years before covid - these guys were way ahead of their time. A Hood that is both spacey & spirited and an uplifting Esther (though isn’t Esther always up-lifting?) end our night at Sam’s. I always knew she was a good swimmer.
, attached to 1995-12-15

Review by kevinAreHollo

kevinAreHollo Video of this second set has surfaced (thank you to all my 90s camcorder ninjas out there) and it seems the Gin segment of the show deserves some clarifying. After the noted percussive jamming (Trey on his mini-kit), things dissolve into cacophony and noise until an eventual fade to Page's piano. He solos in the spotlight for quite a while unaccompanied, several minutes. When lights do come up again, Trey and Mike are seated on stools a la Acoustic Army at centerstage. They pick in unison for a bit, and Fishman joins them on vacuum for some moody atmospherics. Kuroda takes the lights down and this time when they come up the rotation has occurred: Trey on drums, Page on the Dragon, Mike on guitar. Fish takes his place at the piano to "sing" Mallory. While I don't find this portion of the show all that interesting (the Jim and Bowie on the other hand...), it's obvious they had a strategy/game plan going in. Successful or not, I feel like it warrants updating the setlist.
, attached to 1996-07-07

Review by mortinni936

mortinni936 Everything worth mentioning about this show has been outlined by The_Ghost. BUT, I would like to agree that this Tweezer is indeed different and very awesome. The intensity builds until everything is swelling with tone and power. Definitely a stand out from these first couple of dates in Europe and I was honestly surprised to not see it as a Jam Chart version. This Tweezer deserves a listen if nothing else.
, attached to 1997-07-29

Review by Abe_Froman

Abe_Froman It feels like the reviews and the ratings for this show don’t jive. I loved this show, if I could do 4.5 stars, I would. Gumbo, that Antelope, Twist, a Squirming Coil with hands down one of the best Page solos I’ve heard, and they weren’t in any hurry to leave in the encore. Glad they’re coming back to Phoenix in 2021.
, attached to 2011-08-08

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man This event was a life changer! And it had NOTHING to do with the music from the show!! Not a note! At set break the fans who attend shows clean and sober, some folks who do this are called The Phellowship (there's a table usually near the Waterwheel table with that name, The Phellowship, printed on a table cloth), meet up at the table for a basic AA type meeting. If you've never been you're lucky, but you've prob seen one depicted in TV/movies, so yeah there's a meeting and you can share about whatever you want for a minute or two. There was a crowd of about 50 people, which was a lot to me since it was my first Phellowship meeting and didn't know anyone went to a show/church/hockey games/life completely clean/sober. But what was astounding to me was at the end of the meeting. We all circled up and held hands to say the 3 lined sign off that typically ends an AA meeting. "i'm good enough, i'm sma- " jk they say the Serenity Prayer: "God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, The courage to change the things I can, And the wisdom to know the difference." But what the fuck happened?? You must be askin', hopin' reading this was the least bit worth your time. Here's somethin you can take from reading this if my own tale doesn't suffice- the Serenity Prayer was not started by AA. It was first written by the theologian, Reinhold Niebuhr in 1932- three years before AA started. OK back to the show! The Phellowships Serenity Prayer started like this: "Dude, grant me the serenity... "[b][i]DUDE...[/i][/b]"?? This one word difference, after having gone to hundreds of meetings and hearing about God, changed and strengthened my personal ability to have, cultivate, and engage with a higher power. I had an epiphany, a moment of clarity (even though I'd been clean & sober for 11 months at this time), and [i]even[/i] what I'd deem the closest feeling I've had to experiencing a miracle. All because of the word "dude" lol. It was weird to me, too. The very best weird ever. I didn't enjoy much of the show- I probably should have gone with someone who had more clean/sober time- but I did enjoy bumming a cig to the actress Alexis Knapp and her just as astounding friend, Krystal M. Harris. We talked for awhile. This was before she was in Pitch Perfect or Project X- but at the time I had just been cast playing William Shakespeare in an interesting play about him having writers block, then falling thru time to a present day bar where Hamlet, MacBeth, King Lear, and eventually Mercutio are sitting around lamenting the fact that they are killed nightly in every production of their respective plays. In fact, they're mad at me, Will. Anyways, that went well even if no one saw it cuz it's hard to get an audience in LA for a play. But, I got to discuss acting with a couple actors at a phish show moments after having my brain straightened further, directing it down the correct straight and narrow plain of sobriety, for me. I will admit that Alexis Knapp is a good looking woman. But talking with her at my first sober show was altogether buzz'zedding! I strode the fuck away from that conversation like a collector of VHS leaving a Back To The Future machine. You've not seen those machines. Haha then Fishman said somethin' about his routine bein' like a talent show and he then played that broken wheel supermarket cart drumbeat (very hard to play/deal with) real well, only messing the lyrics up once, and only slightly. And that first set Melt was especially jonky- it got me amazed. Then that X-eyed was faster'n hell and full of fun. Piper was too. I love Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan, so the encore was great. This song is as weird and wonderful as many of their classic straighforward songs, and the fact it was written in 2004, but included on Joy, the sober soldier album, gives the song an air of 360 degree meaning... I've since hit up many Phellowship meetings. They're great. I know they have a facebook page if you need any help. Or just hit me up on here.
, attached to 2019-07-13

Review by MiguelSanchez

MiguelSanchez Rock solid outing. It may lack in “epic jams,” but they are playing well and the show has good flow throughout. Blaze On is the jamming highlight in set 1. It goes on a nice loose, jazzy, mildly funky jam. Sloth, Fuck Your Face, MFMF is just straight rock n roll Phish and one of my favorite stretches of the evening. The energy stays dialed in to kick off set 2. The Runaway Jim is very efficient and covers a fair amount of ground in a quick 10 minutes. Fishman killed Undermind. Back on the Train has ample torque towards the end of the second set and is another unlikely show highlight. If you are looking for more straight forward, high octane show, this one is a good call.
, attached to 1995-09-28

Review by hansokolow

hansokolow My second show, and I have super fun memories. As reported, this was just a gorgeous place to see a show, surrounded by water on three sides. There was plenty of room. We walked up very close to the stage without any trouble, right as set one started. For the second set, we went further back where there was so much room to dance. This was a short but sweet show with great crowd energy. I remember, during the "run, run, run" part of Antelope, me and my friends running and dodging in between people, because there was so much room.
, attached to 2021-06-23

Review by whatwasthatabout

whatwasthatabout The shushing, the Rescue Squad, the Jeff… this is one of those shows that makes you remember what this particular music is all about. Trey wasn’t just playing his acoustic, he was playing the crowd and all of our emotional heartstrings like the master he is. As far as the compositions go, everyone was spot on. Water in the Sky set the tone for the beginning of an emotional journey. Drift While Your Sleeping sealed it in. Trey gave us a sonic washing to start CDT to reset the energy after Joy and Farmhouse - it didn’t feel like there was a dry eye in the room (or maybe that was just me). Still reeling from the crowd participation. The shushing during 46 Days became part of the jam - Trey joking it was like a sound Page would play on his synth. This transformed into a Steam where we all were in on the gag in true Phish fashion. I personally helped add some steam from my portable fog machine (aka my bowl). Weed is legal in NY, what a concept! Slave and a YEM to close - no one wanted to leave, especially Trey. Encore showed that. Another emotionally charged Waste, some more fun with the crowd during Gin, Brief Time to seal in what I think we’re all feeling right now. Tweeprise to send us all off with a reflective smile. I feel very lucky to have gotten to see all the shows on this run - and I know we’re all beyond overdue for this collective experience that we all know and love. I’m getting emotional writing this, even. It was great to be back with everyone, to meet new people, to celebrate Tony, and everyone that has come and gone before us. Right now we’re all united with our collective grief, last night reminded me how we’re going to get through it. Love you all! See you out there this summer!
, attached to 2021-06-22

Review by dreamed_a_dream

dreamed_a_dream live music is BACK. and it feels so right. was a breeze getting in to the venue. showed our vax cards, scan our tickets, badda bing badda boom. got there at like 7:45 but still managed to scoop up a poster. couple beers and we are off to our seats, balcony, center. by random phishy happenstance, we end up sitting directly in front of two of our friends. high fives and hugs. lights go down, and it was just one long, beautiful, whimsical dream. i cant even really say what were the highlights. it was all perfect. amazing song choices. the magical rescue squad strings, the music box piano, the minimalist moody northern lights backglow, the giant full moon projection during wolfman’s, complete with audience howls. the whats the use was mind blowing. just bliss. the hood was one of the best ive seen. incredible encore. 24 hours later, im still buzzing with joy and gratitude. it just felt so. damn. good. to be back amongst my people. now bring on summer tour.
, attached to 2011-05-26

Review by beovaldi

beovaldi Imagine standing in the middle of the GA section watching this by yourself and then just walking out quietly. That’s always how I envision myself viewing this jam if I could have viewed it. I’m not sure if this is long enough to meet the minimum requirement so I’ll say one more thing. The legendary stuff at the end of this jam is proof that goodness and beauty can exist in this messed up place called Earth.
, attached to 2010-06-22

Review by Energy51

Energy51 I was late to the game. I fully admit that. This was my first Phish show so it's a bit nostalgic for me as I look back on my brief fandom. I started following Phish around 2008 but it took me a few years to get to the show. We were on the left side of the lower 3 sections. I remember the opener being a big deal, a Phish debut! The start felt a bit sluggish until we got to the gem of Set 1, Divided Sky. We also got a second debut with Dr. Gabel that was solid. Neither debut took away from the energy building in the crowd after the boys shook off the dust. I ran into my childhood friend, Dennis, between sets. He had at that point attended well over 100 shows at that point and was not impressed with the set. When you have that kind of history, I guess that judgment is fair. Set 2 rolled around with gems like Weekapaug Groove and Limb By Limb; which were a treat for me. The really shined in highlighting the set along with 46 Days. Closing with First Tube was great for me. It was beautiful. 11 years ago today, I still feel the same way after I just re-listened to the entire show. At the time, Dennis was extremely disappointed with that as a closer. I wonder if he still feels the same way. Overall a good show. Not the best one but still quite enjoyable. Give it a listen on Live Phish.
, attached to 2000-06-14

Review by dr_strangelove

dr_strangelove The Japan tour... chock full of gems but this is undoubtedly the most infamous of the set. This is one of those rare shows where both sets provide the meats, making this a show well-worth listening to in its entirety. The whole show is saturated with laid-back, relaxed vibes and the jams that develop throughout are meditative & exploratory, with lots of funk and even some patent evil phish mixed in. Phenomenal show and should be high on anyone's 'to-do' list when searching through the incredible history of this band. Highlights: 1) [u]Carini, The Curtain> Cities[/u]: Are you F***ING KIDDING ME!!! Carini opener! OMG, yes!!! Nice little jam on the back end of this demon. Wait... Seriously!? The Curtain to follow!?? And a slam stomp transition into Cities?!?? I hope these Japanese fans appreciate this opening segment of stellar tunes played with gusto galore. [b]2) [u]Gumbo[/u]:[/b] Great song selection continues with Gumbo, spacey little outro jam. Nice. Wait... Mike's throbbing is getting faster, while Page is dialing into interstellar synths, and Fishman is circling the room with his propulsion beat. Trey leans and startss riffing hard on this unexpected Gumbo groove until we've lost all sense of where we even started. An incredible must-hear example of full-band improvisation, made even more impressive by the effortless transition into a fiery Llama 3) [u]SOAMelt[/u]: Nothing too crazy, but a patient tension-filled piece of psychedelic where Trey's guitar effects chase you around the room [b]4) [u]Twist[/u]:[/b] From the first meaty chunks of Mike's bass, this version already is dripping with A1 steak sauce (that is to say, the intro of this Twist is just different enough to make it instantly recognizable, leading to an unavoidable Pavlovian response for those who know what is in store). For a while, the jam meanders in a relaxed mode that slowly drifts further and further from the shores of "Twist" to unrecognizable shimmering sunset seas. The patient playing from everyone recalls vibes of "In A Silent Way" by Miles Davis or 90's trance music. What impresses me most throughout this whole "Twist" part of the jam is the way everyone meshes together: Page's timbres, blowing light springtime winds; Mike's transition from chunk bass to murmuring amongst the lite psychedelia; Fishman's ability to remain a vital but not overpowering voice as he colors the end of the jam with perfectly punctuated & quiet dins on the hi-hats; Trey's use of loops while whispering a mess of fairy tale phrases. If this were the end of the jam, it would be noteworthy in its own right. But oh no, this is not the end... Hold on to your butts! The ensuing Fukuoka Jam might as well be called "Pink Floyd nightmare hellscape". Page leans into some creepy synths, Fishman takes off into sly quick pitter patters, while Mike returns to swamp mud thud bass, starting on a riff that is very akin to the "Ghost" bass line. The jam morphs from creeping death vibes, to nasty groove funk, to rambling rock n' roll that, after 16 min. of this glory, transitions unexpectedly and perfectly into... [b]5) [u]Walk Away[/u]: [/b]What a journey! Although a little restrained with the tempo, the real reason you want to listen is because, for whatever reason, the stars have aligned and compelled Phish to continue their path through patient, trance-like jamming. The jam here finds everyone in a low pitter patter rhythm while Trey rings out two-tone whole note chords before melting into the buzzing summer heat, beneath Fishman's distant tom tom thunder and the insect swirl of Trey's delay loops. [b]6) [u]2001[/u]:[/b] So choice. Not only is this a great coda to an amazing second set, but the funk bubbles & builds. Hot, hot heat!
, attached to 1993-02-18

Review by westbrook

westbrook Big fan of this show just prior to the historic Roxy run. The second set is cut short due to technical issues (someone spilled a drink on the soundboard) and there are a few rough spots in the compositions but when they cut loose the play is really ripping. You'll first want to check out the soundcheck for a run-through of Shaggy Dog, Quinn the Eskimo jam, and banter from Trey about wanting to play one more song and then have a fight (pretty sure this is said in jest?). Chalk Dust ably opens the show with the first of several plus versions and is followed by Guelah and a smoking Poor Heart. Yes, a smoking Poor Heart. Trey's solo is just about note perfect. It's not something I've really tracked but I'd put this version up there with any of them. Next up is the only first set Tweezer of 1993. It has a knotty jam that nicely segues into first-set stalwart Foam and then comes Sparkle (check) and Cavern (check). Reba is the best jam of the night. It's a total show-stopper. I have this as a top-five version of 93, the year that Reba entered its mid-90s peak. This one is a hard rocker and really cranks the energy up by the end of the jam. Incredible. A breather with Lawn Boy is warranted after the tremendous Reba and the set rockets to a close with another "extra mustard please" jam in Antelope. Like Reba, 93 is lousy with strong Antelopes and this one sits comfortably in the company of the best outside of August. Rift is the second set opener for its second appearance in a row. The song hasn't been used as an opener in 3.0 but I think it can work there for sure. I also like the early second set placement for Stash that was really only consistently done in Feb. 93. Stash is not as dynamic as it would become later in the year but it's a satisfying "in-your-face" jam nonetheless. Lizards and PYITE take us to Gamehendge and despite some slip-ups in Punch, make for a pleasing pair. Following that is a strong Mike's Groove where all three components are noteworthy. Definite highlight material. Mike's itself is menacing and diabolical but retains its musicality while working in effective teases of "in the Hall of the Mountain King" and "Another One Bites the Dust". Hydrogen is quite extended with some extra feedback swells from Trey before he starts the melody which is super cool. Weekapaug is another blistering rendition packing a lot of heat into a tight jam. Unfortunately this is where the sound issues really become evident and Weekapaug cuts out and the tape picks back up after Mound starts. It would be great to hear the rest of what seemed to be another wild Spring 93 Weekapaug. The material played without microphones is not available. Definite recommend.
, attached to 2011-06-18

Review by wernerd09

wernerd09 My first show ten years ago today ! Thanks for the reminder .net. Can’t believe this night changed my life. Thankful for all the people and memories I have along the way. I haven’t seen an Esther since. I remember 4 guys came on stage took care of business without saying a word and then left. I was hooked. Can’t wait for ten more years
, attached to 1986-02-03

Review by BishopToB4

BishopToB4 I personally quite enjoyed this show. I had to clean the audio up a little bit with an EQ to hear things correctly, but once this was done the show was a good listen. First YEM got a great crowd reaction once it hit the 'Boy Man' funk part, it felt like everyone knew it was a classic already! Antelope was also a fine version. Other than that the others were fine but nothing special.
, attached to 1990-01-20

Review by dr_strangelove

dr_strangelove Standard fare show: good songs, played reasonably well, with a couple of standout solos and mini-jams. I particularly enjoy the brief Purple Haze tease during Suzy. I am not a fan of the slow-tempo Caravan, however. I'm sure they've played it faster than this? Anyways, highlights: 1) [u]Bathtub Gin[/u]: Trey's solo at the end is sort of slopped around in the best way possible. Dissonant and off-kilter timing. I'll take it! [b]2) [u]Run Like an Antelope[/u]: [/b]Very strong version, the dissonant build with Trey and Page is great and Fishman's drumming is propulsive. [b]3) [u]Reba[/u]:[/b] The jam at the end of this Reba is really thrilling stuff! Trey soars and his tone is gorgeous, Mike's is booming all over the place. My favorite moment of the whole show. 4) [u]Mike's Song[/u]: Trey holds a note for an extended period of time that flirts with the boundary of "this is going on for way too long" and "this is awesome, keep going!". It helps that Page, Mike, and Fish are going nuts during this part of the jam.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode